Awards & Recognition



LSNA supports the contributions of nurses and recognizes outstanding nurses in the nursing community:

  • Nightingale Awards

    The Louisiana Nurses
    Foundation sponsors an Annual Gala that recognizes the following categories:

    • Rookie of the Year
    • Nurse of the Year
    • Mentor of the Year
    • Nurse Researcher of the Year
    • Clinical Practice Nurse of the Year
    • Clinical Nurse Educator of the Year
    • Nurse educator of the Year
    • Advanced Practice Nurse of the Year
    • Outstanding Community Achievement
    • Nursing School Administrator of the Year
    • Nursing Administrator of the Year
    • Nursing School of the Year (Undergrad)
    • Nursing School of the Year (Graduate)
    • Outstanding Employer/Facility (Non-Hosp.)
    • Hospital of the Year (60 or fewer beds)
    • Hospital of the Year (61-160 beds)
    • Hospital of the Year (>160 beds)
    • Hall of Fame

    Induction into the Nursing Hall of Fame began in 2004. This is the most prestigious award offered by LSNA. It is presented annually at the Nightingale gala. The criteria are:

    • Preparation in a formal nursing program
    • Activities related to lifelong learning and significant length of practice as a registered nurse
    • Contributions to professional nursing and/ or community organizations
    • Demonstrated leadership which has affected Louisiana citizens’ health and/ or nursing’s social history
    • Contributions to nursing practice, education, administration, research, economics, or literature
    • Achievement of national recognition
    • Enduring achievement, having value beyond the nominee’s lifetime.
  • LSNA “Leading Way” Awards

    Whereas, the Nightingale Awards are intended to represent the community of nursing and not focus on contributions to the professional association or recognize members of LSNA. It is important to acknowledge the outstanding performance, leadership and involvement of the membership as officers and volunteers and express appreciation to supporters of LSNA.

    • Outstanding BOD
    • Outstanding District Recruitment
    • Outstanding Recruitment of New Grads
    • Outstanding Volunteer
    • Outstanding District President
    • Outstanding Legislator
    • Project Promoting Nursing as a Career
    • Outstanding Community Involvement/ DNA
    • Awards are presented at the biennial Membership Assembly.


    BOD – Patricia Labrosse
    DNA Recruitment – Ruston
    New Grad Recruitment – BRDNA
    Outstanding Volunteer – Karen Loden
    DNA President – Lisa Deaton
    Legislator – Sen. Fred Mills
    Project – Lafayette DNA
    Community – Northshore DNA


    This is a special award aimed at recognizing members of LSNA with at least twenty years of membership and who have contributed to the Association at the State and/or District level. Selectees are inducted at the biennial Membership Assembly. Honorees are:


    Barbara Morvant
    Cynthia Presthodolt
    Lisa Deaton 
    Patricia LaBrosse
    Georgia Johnson
    Diane Webb
    Maxine Johnson
    Nancy Darland
    Norlyn Hyde